Surviving Dubai

What do you usually feel when you are in a place where there’s no guarantee of almost everything? No permanency. Everything temporary. Will you get scared? will you worry all the time thinking that possibly the next day, you won’t have a job, or a flat or dread that your contract is fast ending and that you fret because you don’t know if your employer will renew it or not (and if in case not you’ll have to hustle and look for another job). These emotions are pretty normal for most people here in Dubai. Some are actually too enveloped in stress that they are allowing themselves to be consumed by it, which is saddening. A lot of lonely people trying to find ways to ease the feeling of isolation by going to pubs or clubs and looking for someone to ease the feeling even for just a night. I know that this also happens to some other countries too where a lot of expats work abroad to earn for a living for their families and it’s not just Dubai. What I have concluded is that you cannot change the state of your environment, but the good thing is that you can change the state of your thinking and mindset. You see, you have to be adaptable to change. You have to go with the flow of things and be open to new challenges and adventures. Feeling all these negative emotions are  normal and you can acknowledge it. However, it is best that you know how you can divert all these negative feelings into something really positive.  For the past few months since I arrived here in Dubai, I keep holding on to this thought that something really rewarding awaits me. Actually I strongly sense it. And I keep thanking God a million times over and over how I totally appreciate the things that he has blessed me with. After all the hardships that I’ve gone through from dealing with my separation to being hospitalized and now moving to Dubai and start from zero, I must confidently say that I am not afraid anymore and I have never felt so tough when it comes to dealing with challenges. I also became more wiser and intelligent. You gain all these knowledge through experiencing struggles, meeting new people and absorbing facts and principles from books  too.

Shirt from Royal Enfield, Beanie from Forever 21 

So if you will ask me if I am happy now? I’ll say YES. I am happy. And when someone ask me “Why does it seem like you don’t miss your family? You seem like you’re always out and about in Dubai partying.” My usual response is” I do miss my family especially my kids. No need to wear a long face and stay cooped in your flat and be sad and think all these waste thoughts right? ”

 

Never let these negativity rule you. You sail your own ship and you should know where the direction of the wind will take you. You need to strategically maneuver the sails, make sure that the mast and the winch are intact and in place securely, just like with your life making sure that your emotions are stable and your mind and body are ready to take these new challenges that is coming for you

 

I hope whoever is reading this will have a fruitful and blessed life ahead of him/her.

 

 

Leave a Reply

